kapunda Mine Site
a RICH COPPER ore DISCOVERY RESULTED IN A NEW WAVE OF EMIGRATION TO SOUTH AUSTRALIA WITH THE KAPUNDA MINE OPENING IN 1844
A large statue at the entry into Kapunda known as Map the Miner or Map Kernow (Son of Cornwall), welcomes visitors and pays tribute to the Cornish Miners who came to Kapunda to mine the valuable copper ore.
Ranking fourth in total copper production amoungst historic mines in South Australia, the Kapunda Mine had the richest ore grade averaging over 20% with vivid green colours still visible in the rocks and water.
Follow the signs from the Thiele Highway onto Perry Road to access the mine site and Trail. There's a carpark with signposts on the left-hand side. The Kapunda Mine Trail is an easy walk of one and a half kilometres and takes about one hour to complete; linger longer to admire the vistas and capture memories to share.
Stroll around the heritage mine site on the paved trail with lookout spots and learn of the mines history through interpretive signage. Walk past old mine shafts, open cuts and remnants of the old Bull Winding Enginehouse.
Go down the steps and explore one of the first open cut mines introduced in 1867 and see the colours of the rocks, some of which are more than 600 millions years old. A relica of the first horse whim makes for a unique photo stop alongside the old boilerhouse chimney built in 1851.
The town of Kapunda can claim many 'firsts' including the first horsedrawn whim, the first Cornish beam engine, the first open cut mine in Australia and the first mining company that built homes for the miners.
A visit to 'Bagots Fortune', named after Captain Charles Harvey Bagot who was the principal owner and first manager of the mine until 1859 to learn more is a must. Located on Hill Street, 'Bagots Fortune' is accessible through the Kapunda Museum and will reveal an interactive and informative display of the mines operations. The Kapunda Museum is a treasure trove of early Kapunda historical items including the maginificent silver Bagot Cup presented to Captain Bagot by the miners, Kapunda and the district on his retirement.
The Kapunda Visitor Information Centre on Main Street stocks the book 'Captain Bagots Mine 1844-1916' written by C J Drew, a comprehensive and interesting account of the Kapunda Mines history.
Find out more when in the Light Region...